Dai Urnal-Instants

By DaiUrnal

Say "Cracking Cheese, Gromit!"

Today was the last day Gromit was allowed to roam the city of Bristol and environs unleashed. Tomorrow, Gromit will be back on the leash.

It was an early start because I'd been invited to a B-B-Q lunch at the Royal Crescent but I was in Bristol by 8am and able to shoot seven out of the remaining eight Gromits I had not yet seen. Sadly the Gromit on Clifton Hill had been removed to Pet Hospital after being injured by vandals. I don't know the prognosis, but it seems bleak, as someone had erected a cross at the site.

Congratulations to all the artists who so lovingly lavished their creativity on Gromit. For a character who never speaks, his eyes are incredibly expressive. He is the most eloquent ambassador for Bristol and the Bristol Children's Hospital. You can learn more (and donate, if you wish) at the Wallace and Gromit Grand Appeal site.

ITV reports that 260 people achieved the kudos of visiting all 80 Gromits. As for me, I managed to capture all bar one; I hope to be able to combine my images and my poetry later in an e-book. But that's another story...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.