Ultra-Tiny Mini-Bun, Smiling :-)

As you might have guessed, it was finally time to spend some time at home, after our big outdoor expedition to the Quehanna Wild Area on Friday and Saturday. And so, on Sunday, we went nowhere. We stayed home, made a gorgeous, huge omelet for breakfast (peppers, mushrooms, onions, two kinds of cheese, ham), and spent the day in and around the house. It felt good to be home.

I walked out into the yard in the morning only to find THREE of our yard rabbits hanging out together. There was a large rabbit, a medium rabbit, and this rabbit - ultra-tiny! - in the middle. I got numerous photos of them together. It felt like family portrait time in the yard.

You've met several of this summer's rabbits before. First, there was Cinnabun. Then, there was Hunnybun.

And I had mentioned seeing the latest small rabbit, Mini-Bun, in one or two of my recent blips. Which I presumed this rabbit to be. Until I showed the photos to my husband, who straightened me out.

"That is NOT Mini-Bun," he said.

"Of COURSE it is," I replied.

"Nope," he said, head shaking. "This rabbit is even SMALLER than Mini-Bun. I know you're in denial over it, but Mini-Bun has grown up some. Gotten bigger. Why, this one here's practically a brand new rabbit!"

So there you have it, straight from my husband's mouth. And of course, what ensued was a discussion of great importance, concerning the naming of rabbits.

"I think we should call it Ultra-Tiny Mini-Bun," I said. "And look. It's . . . SMILING." I smiled too.

"I've already named it: Weenie-Bun," my husband said, matter-of-factly. A nodding of the head. A straightening of the shoulders, in a manly so-let-it-be-written-so-let-it-be-done fashion. As though the matter had been settled. No further discussion needed.

"WEENIE-BUN IS NOT A PROPER NAME FOR A RABBIT!" I said, somewhat forcefully.

"And Weenie-Bun it is," he said, walking out the front door. "You can call it whatever you want. But it will always be Weenie-Bun to me." End of conversation.

And so, dear Internet peeps, now that the matter has been settled, let me introduce you to the smallest and dearest member of our rabbit tribe. Meet: Ultra-Tiny Mini-Bun. Who happens to be smiling.

Oh, and who is also, by the way, one heck of a dancer! The cat and I, in our morning porch time together, have seen this bunny dancing - yes, dancing - several mornings, just before dawn. Kicking up its heels like Twinkletoes! Which might also be a fine name for a tiny rabbit. But, hey, as I said, the matter's been settled. As settled as things get around here, anyway . . . <grin>

And so the song to accompany this photo of our smallest yard rabbit yet - a rabbit so little it barely casts a shadow, so tiny the grass is barely disturbed by its itty-bitty dancing feet - is Elton John, singing Tiny Dancer, from 1971.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.