Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

Warm

I've been home for an hour and am only just starting to feel warm as I got totally, absolutely, drenched as I cycled home. The heavens opened and I didn't have a jacket or raincoat. Talk about a wet t-shirt competition ....

So, I quickly changed out of my sodding sodden clothes and into my jim-jams and made myself a bizarre supper of mince in a sweet and sour sauce and hash browns. Rol is away this evening overnight and I felt in need of some comfort food. The strange supper and Rufus Wainwright on the radio helped.

Fellow blipper Arachne asked me to share a little story from my adventures in London on Saturday so here it is.

To cut a long story short, one of my friends (a librarian) and her son (early 20s, looks like he sleeps with his skateboard, nose ring, holes in his ears you could get your thumb through, baseball cap) were being stopped from entering the area where the Unite Against Fascism rally was being held. The reason being that the policeman who was stopping them didn't like the look of her son.

My friend and I tried to get the copper to say why but we failed to get anywhere until I had a little stroke of genius and said something like: 'Look. This guy has a job, he has money but I don't know exactly what he does. Do you know what I think he looks like? I think he looks like one of those undercover policemen who pretends to be an environmental activist and gets to have sex with loads of women'.

My friend's son kept quiet throughout all this, just rolling his eyes. The upshot was that the copper started waving his arms around which, apparently, was semaphore for 'Go. Go now, quickly to wherever you want to go. But do it before my sergeant sees me or he'll kill me'.

Mad.

As is the news that the police arrested five legal observers who had voluntarily entered the kettle where around 200 anti-fascists were being held, and were also arrested. The reason the legal observers entered the kettle was to ensure that people were fully aware of their legal rights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.