stujphoto

By stujphoto

Softer on the eye ....

For my final blip before I go away you nearly got landed with a small fly, admittedly with nice iridescent wings. but in the last throes of of its struggle against the strength of a glutinous spider web. I'd gone out into the garden and right next to the fuschia bush with is still buzzing with bees is a Ceanothus bush which was covered in small spiders' webs as this is the time of year when spiders really come into their own.

Rather stupidly I decided to use my super macro set-up ( a reversed 28mm lens with a camera micro positioning plate ). What I did not take account of was the fact that nearly all of the webs were being blown gently by the wind so trying to focus was extremely difficult as I am between 1/2" to 1" away from the subject. As often as not I ended up with my lens tangled up in the web ! What with that and the tripod legs pushing against the bush, it was a throroughly frustrating experience. Still I did end up with one or two semi-sharp shots which showed off the iridescence in the wings nicely but did not have sufficient depth of field to have most of the image pin sharp. I have put one in my blipfolio. HERE

Luckily I had taken two or three shots of Belhaven Bay while I was taking the dogs for their afternoon walk. There was a nice overaching cloud formation and the sun was shining over relatively still waters in the bay, so there were nice reflections.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.