CanCarrier

By CanCarrier

Cultoon Stone circle.

There are no ferries on Sundays, so we couldn't get to Jura, so we had to find other ways to amuse ourselves.

Luckily the gang were in a relaxed mood, so when as navigator I yelled 'look, a circle of standing stones' they all went 'oh no, she's gone off into her amateur archaeologist mode again..' They all sat in the warm whilst I waded through wild bog land and evaded agressive sheep to take a photo of neolithic tram works.

Honestly, I'm telling you, this place and central Edinburgh has more in common than you would think at first glance.

The stones were all dragged here at great upheaval, expence and cost of resources. The preparation holes were dug and then the lads downed tools and went home. They simply didn't finish the job.

Here is a bit of a link..

The afternoon was spent further north at Ardnave. Mostly bird watching. Though A found a giant golf ball, and I found a huge wad of naturally shed sheep's wool. I was only allowed to bring in with me after I'd washed it in the sea and packed it in a plastic bag.

We finished the day in a hide looking over a bog, and I saw my first corncrakes.

Home to a hot shower and tea. A very pleasent day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.