jeni and the beans

By themessymama

Bubbles

The boys got their new trainers today. After discovering a distinct lack of the shoe shop the Bean remembered buying his last pair of swooshy shoes two years ago from, we headed to Broadheath today. Bear got temporarily lost in the shop after Bean and he ran off to try out their new trainers and only Bean came back after Bear got momentarily distracted by something evidently more interesting. The shop assistants were quite amused by Bear! The pair of them are very pleased indeed with their new swooshy shoes, Bean has grey and blue and Bear has grey and orange ones. And they almost match. Very cute. They've been jumping in them. And when Steve arrived home they RAN to get their new shoes on to show him!

Realised when I uploaded Sunday's blip that I'm rather behind on my blips for the past week. Will have to rectify that when I get chance...

These early mornings are killing me. I've not caught up on sleep from last week yet, and now Steve's up and out by just after 7.30am and the boys have decided that that is the time to get up and demand breakfast. Bean got up and went off by himself to find a grandparent to feed him, but Bear wanted me to come with him so he tried dragging me out of bed by my thumb and when that didn't work he covered my boobs up and handed me my glasses and tried again, all the while chanting "mama, mama, mama, mama, mama..."

Also been out to pick Bean's bike up from the bike shop, took it in yesterday to get some new tyres and inners ordered and left the tyreless wheel with them as well. All fixed, Bean super-happy, went straight outside and raced around the small grassy area on it freewheeling and grinning and making the bike man grin too! Makes a HUGE amount of difference having two wheels that aren't flat ;) Bear can finally have the smaller balance bike fixed up now, he's been pretty desperate to try it. This afternoon he spent a fair amount of time dragging it around, poor thing with only one wheel on it. Now that Steve's home and has connected up the computer and dug out the laptop and generally done the tech stuff, he's fixing up Bear's bike. I wanted to do it but I am so tired I can barely string a coherent word together let alone a sentence when speaking so the logic puzzle of trying to get the wheel back on the bike with all the nuts and washers in the right order is just too much right now!

Tried to register Steve at the GP surgery as well, having been given forms to fill in yesterday. However the lady I spoke to yesterday didn't get enough of the story to realise what the situation was, and it turns out that actually there is no point in registering as a temporary patient because they won't get my notes through unless we're planning on staying here more than three months (which we're not) and they can't do any treatment plans or changes anyway, only provide scripts for current medication. And I can't register Steve as a temporary patient anyway because I'm not him. So I shouldn't have been given the forms I was given yesterday at all! Gah. What a waste of time and energy, but at least I know what I CAN'T do now. Guess I'll be muddling along with the diabetes for another three months until we finally find a new place to live and we can register properly with a new GP etc. Sigh. No more kids on the cards just yet then.

Paleo eating habits are suffering but mum understands more now. "Feed me meat" helped. Hard because I know I feel better when I follow this "diet" (for want of a better word, I'm not doing it to lose weight which is what the word "diet" makes everyone instantly think) but it would be so much easier to just eat 'normal' food for the next three months as in pasta and bread and rice and stuff. At least they are now in the "occasional" category, which is also where most sweet things are too. Overall I'm pretty happy with my eating habits right now :) Lots of things to keep working on, but lots of progress made.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.