Breathe In And Out...

By ScotNatureBoy

The Kelpies are coming!

On Sunday, we took a visiting friend down to see the Falkirk Wheel and drove home via the M9 motorway to show her the progress with the construction of these two 30 metre-high horses heads, marking a new iconic entrance from the Forth Estuary into the Forth and Clyde Canal. They have been designed by Scottish sculptor and artist Andy Scott, following a commission from Scottish Canals. Kelpies were the mythological Scottish water spirits, flighty magical water horses that were supposed to sweep away the unwary traveller. I am happy to say that the idea for the Kelpies as an appropriately Scottish image was introduced to the canal company in the first place by my wife, so we are keeping a keen eye on the progress of these two mighty statues! I hasten to add, I was a passenger in the car when I took this photo...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.