Hangingstone Road

I was a bit silly last night. I got sucked into watching the latter stages of the US Open Tennis Final between Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. I was in that weird state of being over-tired and simply unable to summon the energy to tear myself away and get to bed. It was utterly compelling as a spectacle. I don't think I've ever seen tennis played with such brutal strength and athleticism. Nadal's raw desire to win was a primal force. He was playing at the absolute top of his game. Djokovic wasn't quite at the top of his game, which was probably just as well for if he had of been the match may well have lasted the entire night. The rallies were phenomenal. If Rafa can stay fit then there is no doubt in my mind that he will eventually trump Roger Federer's Grand Slam record and become recognised as the greatest player the game has ever seen. To my mind, he's certainly the most exciting.

I've blipped the top of the climb up from my house to the Cow and Calf. This felt pretty brutal this morning, moving rather slowly after not enough sleep. I can't help but think I should be fitter than I feel right now for the number of times I've cycled up here this summer! You seem to have to train harder and harder as you get older just to stand still in terms of fitness.

Had both my boys home this evening, something which will soon be a rare occurrence. However, instead of wanting to watch the England game, as I might have expected, they were keen to watch the latest episode of Newsroom, recorded from the previous night. We all absolutely love this show. Any other fans out there?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.