From a different age...

I don't see these often anymore.

When I used to come to the US for work back in the '90s I spent a lot of time at banks of phones in convention centres calling the office or my girlfriend from phones like these. First dial a 1-800 access number free of charge, then enter the number of the company calling card to get cheap international calls on the company account, then enter my personal ID, then my PIN. Then try again, because getting all 40 digits right without accidentally skipping or double pressing seldom happened.

Now I just turn call from my mobile phone, or turn WiFi on and use skype for longer calls...

I wonder how long it is since anyone used one of these?

On a completely different note, I'm trying out a Canon SX280 compact, and I used both it and my S90 to take this shot. The S90 lens is 2 stops faster so the S90 shot at ISO 400 and the SX280 shot at ISO 1600 with a sensor a couple of generations newer. The noise levels were pretty similar, the main difference is that the SX280 doesn't shoot raw and the JPEGs are slightly oversharpened at high noise levels. I miss RAW on it, but the newer sensor and stupendous wide angle lens with 20x zoom means I'm sure I will find plenty of uses for it... I'll keep the S90 for underwater and serious compacy photography (and the 60D is for proper photography obviously), but at first glance the SX280 looks like a welcome addition to the stable...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.