EastTexasAngles

By EastTexasAngles

Portrait of my Mom at 94

You would never believe she has been so sick all summer! This morning she had her hair done for the first time in 3 months and is sitting waiting to go to her first social event of the fall.

It was a huge effort for her to get dressed and ready with shingles (less painful now), drop foot and a broken wrist. She decided at the last minute not to go to a meeting last week, but this time she made the effort. She had a great time, seeing all her friends and being treated like a queen, but she was also exhausted.

She looked absolutely gorgeous! I took this portrait with the 45mm f1.8 portrait lens and it really came through for me. My 30 year old niece proclaimed that this is now her number one FAVORITE picture of her grandmother. Wow!! I got an "Awesome picture" from the other one! I give credit to the camera and lens combination.

I am so proud of my beautiful mother and how she has handled everything she has gone through this summer -- and I am so grateful that she is beginning to feel -- and look -- like her old self.

I am also very grateful to the Blipfoto community for traveling with me and encouraging me every step of the way. Mom still has a ways to go but I truly think a corner has been turned and she will be continuing to improve in the days and weeks ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.