Fossils

When Heather met the local plumber and electrician, Steve Etches, in the middle of the road, she suggested that I might like to see his fossil collection. I assumed I was going to see a few ammonites and the odd piece that he's found on the beach. How wrong I was. When I was ushered through his house into what would have been his garage some time ago, my jaw just about hit the ground.

Steve has been finding and preparing local fossils since he was a boy and has the most amazing collection I have ever seen. Not just me. He has the largest and best collection in private hands outside of the British Natural History Museum and it is of both national and international significance! He has collected over 20,000 fossils of which many are of better quality than in any museum,amongst which are unique species which only he holds and each and almost all come from the local coastline. I feel very honoured to have been given access.

A new centre is being built in the village of Kimmeridge which will house the collection with aid from the Lottery.

I've found this reference to his collection and, if you're interested, it's well worth reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.