Gaia's Child

By maura143

So There I Was...

...about to step up to this machine for My Yearly Mammogram when the urge to Blip came upon me! The sweet young Technician looked a bit surprised when I asked if I could take a Photo of the Mammo Machine. She said sure...So I did!

I was turning forty when my Cousin called me to tell me that she had just received the very frightening news that every woman dreads...a Diagnosis of Breast Cancer. We cried and talked long into the night. She blamed excessive drinking, equally excessive smoking and a Marriage gone devastatingly wrong. She made me swear to her that
I would begin getting yearly Mammograms and told me that she had thought that they were not that important and had never gotten one. It quickly spread to her bones.

I have kept my promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.