where bedbugs fear to creep

With a little work I'm sure this could have been folded and squeezed into the bin, though might then have acted as a plug, preventing the bin-contents from falling out when the bin was lifted and inverted by the bin-inverting machinery at the back of the bin lorry. Maybe the disposing entity didn't want to touch it any more than necessary. It might look quite nice if it was sprinkled with cress or mustard seeds and lightly watered but I had none on me when I passed.

Due to scheduling conflicts I didn't manage to do a week's worth of ironing on Sunday, nor take the ironing into work to avoid the need to remember a shirt every day. I remembered one yesterday (along with my trousers, though alternative trousers live in my locker) but forgot today. Only a chance glance at a window inside which were sitting a stack of white folded cloth things which were probably pillowcases but which were sufficiently similar to shirts reminded me. I was only five minutes from work and ten from home; going straight back was quicker but going to work first, dumping my bag then going back would have caused significantly less overheating. There's usually one or two spare shirts somewhere in my locker but I remembered having used them up and taken them home a couple of weeks earlier. As it turned out there was a spare spare in the cupboard behind my desk (currently acting as a desk drawer-overflow system) but I lost nothing except a little spare flex and gained lots of extra steps. There is now a shirt for Wednesday in my locker and an alarm set for tomorrow evening to remind me to create more, possibly including next weeks' supply as only two will be required for the shorter partial-holiday week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.