Blip Rules

Well it is ruling my life at the moment. After a certain North American Bliper who I won't name MrSummerVulture, pronounced on Sunday that "Autumn has arrived", I went in to a personal crisis skipping Autumn and finding myself in Winter Blip Mode which is to post at midday when I can get inside to warm up again after mucking the horses and walking the dogs. In winter not much happens in the afternoon worthy of Bliping so it's a good time to do it and I can usually witness Dave posting his Blip.

So yesterday I posted at midday, had a cat nap, did some stable and chicken coup cleaning, listening to the rain hammering on the roof. Then at 6:00 pm it stopped so I thought a good opportunity to walk the dogs again. Off we set and 5 minutes later as we emerged from the forest in to open pasture, the heavens opened up and the sun came pouring down with the most spectacular Blipable views. Absolutely stunning but of course as I had Bliped, didn't have the camera! I need to find out how to unsubscribe from this scaremongering north American vulture and get Blip Central to stop her posting comments on my journal - to rub it in she wrote today that it was now 35°C. Hope her air conditioning unit overheats.

Today started wonderfully sunny if somewhat windy. On our walk, even had a tree uprooted close to us! The rain will have helped the mushrooms start thinking about making an appearance. Saw our first funghi, a beautiful orange colour and form. Then saw the flower in the Blip. I am convinced they are a species of giant crocus, They look identical, just bigger. I couldn't however see any leaves. Wonder if anyone knows what they could be. Closer up on Flickr.

In the afternoon cleaned the chicken coup and set out 12,500 "killer mites" which arrived in the post yesterday. I reported many weeks ago that we had a problem with blood sucking bird mites and had ordered killer mites which arrived during the time the temperature was well over 30°C, at which they can't live. We also banned the chickens out of the coup. After several weeks we were convinced the killer mites had survived and done a great job as we could not see or feel the bird mites. However last week when I worked in the coup doing some roosting pole repositioning, felt the critters again! Possibly a mistake to ban the chickens as the mites had no "food" they became dormant. The chickens have been allowed in for a week but today after spending well over an hour in there, didn't have a single itch? Perhaps the bird mites are now getting all they need from the chickens and don't need my blood. Just hope the 12,500 killer mites (19.00 Euros inkl P&P) find something to get to work on. Should really have checked if the delivery was accurate.

So back to summer Blip schedule, posting at gone midnight and with a hot water bottle on my lap. Refuse to light the fire, even if just to snub a certain person. More wet stuff to come but looking forward to Saturday's return to +20°C.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.