America remembers...

Wow was it ever hot today! We had so many beautiful fall like days already and then yesterday and today came along and hit us in the face with the reality that summer was not yet over!
I had art class today, and by the time the class was over at noon, I walked outside and felt like I had entered a time warp and was standing smack in the middle of July! My car thermometer read 99F! All the kids that had started back to school this week were probably wishing they were home in the air conditioning or swimming in their pools.
The photo I chose for my blip was from right outside my art teacher’s house, in his front garden. I stood on the sidewalk and just shot into the wild array of flowers that were taller than I was. Okay, that is not saying much since I am only 5’3” but trust me, they were tall! Since today was 9/11/13, it was a reminder to everyone of that horrible day in 2001. In remembrance of all who were lost on that day, a giant flag was on display hanging from the front of the house. It all looked very, American. I felt it was an appropriate statement for the day. My art teacher’s brother, Robert Wetzel, was a Prisoner of War and his story is an amazing one. If anyone is interested, read here.
Tomorrow the weather is supposed to turn back to a more fall like pattern and I am looking forward to that. I love the sunshine but all this sweating is a bit much. Talk about bad hair days!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.