Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Diamonds

I've been south of the border this morning, into Derbyshire. I didn't have a Bakewell tart, buy any Denby pottery or catch the Black Death though, so I don't think I had the full Derbyshire experience (that should offend a few Blip mates!).

I was only just south of the border, just off the A628 at a place called Birchen Bank wood - a very pretty place, but I had forgotten it is only accessible over a very high and rickety old stile. I am glad there was nobody there to witness me trying to carry a 26kg dog over it. I think she has just about forgiven me the indignity of the manoeuvre, but then she wasn't the one stuck with one leg on either side it for what seemed like an eternity. Still, all's well that ends well, and she got a bacon sandwich on the way home as compensation.

The heather was glistening with blankets of diamonds, I didn't have my macro lens and I think the focus is all over the place on this but I really like the effect.

Plenty of diamond songs to go at, but I found this totally unrelated song by mistake. I would generally oppose any cover of a U2 song, but if it's Ewan McGregor there's lots to commend it!

Thank you for the love of Wile E Coyote, I wonder how he'd have tackled the stile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.