Cinq cent

It’s not much of a celebratory blip, but today was not the best of days for photographs, I have to say. Calais this morning was cloudy and grey. Then we have been driving south on motorways for the whole of the rest of the day and, although the aires are wonderful, compared to what is provided in the way of rest areas in the UK, they are always surrounded by trees, so no landscape to be seen.

Someone did have the clever idea of taking a picture 500km from Calais, but that didn’t happen!

So here we are - quite a bit further than 500km from Calais, at St Martin-en-Bresse, near Bourg on Bresse and at the Hotel Au Puits Enchante. Even here it was dull and spotting with rain when we arrived. Not the most scenic of places, we stay here purely for the nice welcome we get from this family run hotel . . . and the most wonderful food imaginable.

Then suddenly the sun shone and I dashed out and took this picture. I’ve even managed to get myself in it. And I suppose it’s appropriate in a way. We have been coming here for many years, a bit of a habit, part of what we do when we’re in France. And that’s what Blip has become to me. Part of what I do.

So 500 blips and still going without a gap and without a back blip. Am I staying with blip? Certainly! I’ve made too many friends to be leaving any time soon. And I’m sure we’ll be back at the Enchanted Well another year as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.