Everyday People

By everydaypeople

Edwin

There's a portrait project going on on blipfoto, called "when you're a stranger". A couple of black and white disposable camera's are travelling around the world, from one participant to another. Everyone that receives the cameras has to shoot one photo of a stranger with this camera and then pass the camera on to another person. This week I received the camera from Lauren in Belfast and today I took my portrait with it.

After my shoot in Enschede today I walked into town to go and look for a photogenic stranger. I was lucky right away: at the big square I saw a couple of guys having a beer on a bench. I talked to them for a while and both Pauli and his friend Edwin would like to be photographed. They had known each other for years but hadn't been in touch for a very long time, they just recently met again. Edwin is originally from Indonesia, but had lived in Enschede for most of his life. He couldn't walk very well because his back was injured at the fireworks explosion in Enschede back in 2000. After I shot my portrait with the film camera of Edwin I shot a few more with my digital Fuji of him and of Pauli with his dog...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.