The second half of life..

By twigs

Jerusalem

Took another walk around the 'Devil's Cave' area near Fiona's house . . . . . couldn't find any devils nor any caves when I came here earlier in the week and I still can't! Ah well - a walk around the recently harvested corn fields made for a good morning stroll. This view is from one of the higher points of the walk. Coulnd't help but think of the very patriotic song as I looked at the rolling Oxfordshire countryside.

Jerusalem

And did those feet in ancient time.
Walk upon Englands mountains green:
And was the holy Lamb of God,
On Englands pleasant pastures seen!

And did the Countenance Divine,
Shine forth upon our clouded hills?
And was Jerusalem builded here,
Among these dark Satanic Mills?

Bring me my Bow of burning gold;
Bring me my Arrows of desire:
Bring me my Spear: O clouds unfold!
Bring me my Chariot of fire!

I will not cease from Mental Fight,
Nor shall my Sword sleep in my hand:
Till we have built Jerusalem,
In Englands green & pleasant Land


(William Blake)

A little piece of heaven on earth here in England.

Tricia arrived this afternoon so, when we collected mum and got back to Fiona's we were all together again for the first time in over 10 years :) Skyped William so were 'virtually' complete.

Looking forward to Saturday when lots of the extended family will be dropping in and catching up. Should be a good day - noisy, busy, but good :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.