CreativeCarol

By CreativeCarol

A Stranger

This is Paula, the receptionist at my eye doctor's office. She is the best receptionist I have ever seen. She is friendly, has a great smile, professional, kind, and just loves her job. It shines on her face each time I come to the office. I confess I groaned inwardly when I saw "A Stranger" on the September Heartfreek Challenge list. I am not that comfortable with taking a stranger's picture. Honeycombebeach does it very well! Today it was not to hard to do once I struck up a conversation with her while I was checking out from my appointment today. She was very kind and gracious to allow me to take her photo.

My father-in-law always made it a point to talk to strangers, for he firmly believed in this quote: "There are no strangers here; Only friends you haven't yet met."
by William Butler Yeats
When he passed away about 13 years ago, there was standing room only at his funeral. We were not surprised that in addition to the friends that we knew he had there were people we did not know. Like the garageman, postman, bank tellers, waitresses, etc. at his funeral. To him, no one was a stranger they were only a friend to be had.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.