Just Resting

I went to Christchurch to do my fortnightly shopping. I saw a lot of trees down along The Old West Coast Road. Several, like the one above, were being held up by the power lines. No wonder so many people are still without power after Tuesday's storm. There are hundreds of repairs to be done.

Many of the downed trees are pines- tall, slim trees like this one, or huge old man pines. Eucalypts did not fare well either. I saw a whole row flattened head to toe like dominoes. Great specimen trees have also fallen.

On Tuesday at the height of the storm I went out to check on my trees. They were flailing about in an alarming manner. The big trunks of the tall Douglas firs (Pseudotsuga menziesii) were swaying close to the ground. Branches came down, but the only tree I lost was an old elder that had a half rotten stem.


Edit: See it first on Blip! A photo of this tree appeared in the Christchurch Press the next day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.