Statue at the Ringling Museum

There was a special exhibit at the John and Mable Ringling Museum in Sarasota called The American Moderns (1910-1960) this summer. I had already seen it but my friends Ann Hall and Tom had not. We all went together on September 2 - I certainly did not mind having another look at this great show! Plus, the three of us really had fun seeing it together, seeing what each other liked and finding things that maybe the other one had missed. Tom knows a lot of Art History from working with museums and that was really great, added a lot to my viewing! Ann blipped about the beautiful grounds - see her blip here.

I have been to the Ringling many times but I don't think I really "saw" this statue before. It looked so magical to me. Unlike my Zebra Longwing butterfly photo which I did nothing to, I have worked this photo in PicMonkey! I really wanted to bring out the magical quality I felt when seeing it in person.

The Ringling Museum is quite a place! Gardens, art, sculpture, a waterfront mansion, banyan trees, Royal Poinciana trees, my great uncle's painting . . . no wonder I go there so often!

I have a few more photos from our visit to the museum and rose garden here! And I had forgotten I had made an animoto video of an earlier visit to the Ringling when Steven and I first arrived in Florida. It shares a lot more of the grounds and some of the amazing art. If you are interested, discover it here.
thanks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.