Tech Marketing Guy

By tmg

Flower Macro

Yesterday I visited a flower garden and ended up blipping the bee. I was enamored with the gorgeous flowers, but was frustrated with my inability to get a macro shot because of the wind and slow shutter speeds. Fortunately, I captured the bee shot.

This morning, I decided to return to the same flower garden with my tripod. I usually don't bring my tripod because of its bulk, but when I use it, it reminds me of what a valuable tool it is. Today was no exception. I loved having the tripod and the ability to remove any camera shake. Of course, the wind was still an issue, but it is easier to deal with one variable (e.g. the wind) vs two (e.g. the wind and camera shake.).

The only unfortunate thing is that today's weather was gray and rainy vs yesterday's dry overcast. You would think that it would not make much a difference to the flowers, but I noticed the changes immediately. I liked how things looked yesterday better, but what can I do? I considered returning in the afternoon, but have a hectic evening tonight and was determined to blip in the AM and post at lunch time (now).

The moral of the story is that a tripod is an important accessory and will make the difference between a keeper and deleter. I highly recommend that all blippers consider adding one to their kit. The other takeaway is that scenery can change day-to-day and even hour-to-hour and so if you see something you like, you should blip it because you may never see the same image again. I am going to re-visit those flowers when the weather changes and I bet that I will see something completely different.

I like the bright colors in this shot and the interesting textures. A cool side effect of the wet weather is that you can see the reflection of the leaves surrounding me on the petals.


Post processing:
Slight reduction in contrast in DPP
Slight Increase in saturation in DPP

Constructive criticism always welcome

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.