Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Hopfenernte - Nachspiel: Zwielichitge Charaktere

Hop harvest - Aftermath: Shady characters

You have accompanied me through the hop picking from the first load of hops freshly harvested hops to the empty hop yard at the end. After the dried hop cones were sitting for three days now, they had to be baled and weighed, though - the last steps in the harvesting works. We tackled that today. The outcome was as expected as it was sobering: the volume was down by 35% compared to the average of the last 5 years. On the upside I was able to reduce the fuel oil consumption of the kiln by another 10% per volume compared to last year, due to my rather unorthodox approach to drying this year .

The photo shows weighed, branded and sealed (the small tapes), and palletised hop bales, ready for probing and shipping.

I'm rewarding myself by going to another beer festival tonight: Freisinger Volksfest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.