Light & sight

By CameronDP

Screeching tyres

I spent a large chunk of this afternoon either waiting for or talking to a Virgin Media engineer. But it was worth the effort in the end: my landline is now working for the first time in about a month. Finally PPI spammers can get through to me again! Let the dubious solicitations begin anew!
Later, as the sun begin to sink, I betook myself to the local fleapit palace of dreams cinema to watch 'Rush', which is about the personal and professional rivalry between 70s Formula 1 racing drivers James Hunt (tousled blond playboy popular with the laydeez) and Niki Lauda (intense, rather humourless Austrian). Screeching tyres, roaring engines, worried mechanics and sprayed champagne all feature prominently. You can almost smell the exhaust fumes. It's very slick and quite exciting in stretches. I was nobbut a wee nipper back in 1976. I had heard the names but didn't know the story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.