skillyjeff

By skillyjeff

There is something interesting about this photo. It is a scan of a FP4 negative taken with a Rolleiflex. What is unusual is that the negative was developed in coffee. Yes, coffee. Apparently coffee, even by itself, will develop a film, but mixing it with vitamin C and washing soda is better. I made the mixture, a thick, dirty, dark brown, coffee-smelling brew. It looked so unlikely that I was reluctant to pour it into the developing tank over my film. But it worked beautifully, and it is non-toxic. Amazing.

PS. I have been reminded that this is my 365th blip. I am impressed by other blippers who post a year's worth of consecutive blips, but it took me much longer than a year. I started out diligently with daily posts but after 4 or 5 months I began to lapse, and quite happily. I joined blip as a way of taking photography more seriously and it worked, and its been an interesting journey to see the changes. Now what I love most about blip is looking at other blippers' photos. There are some amazing people and artists in here and it is a privilege to communicate with many of them (though I have to confess that communication is not one of my strong points). Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.