Come into the Garden

By aprecious

Tired...

A bit. The good news is I didn't drown!

Actually I was quicker than anticipated but official time not yet in (somewhere around 2:40/2:45, perhaps?) It's a tidal river so the tide obviously offers considerable assistance. I've never swum that fast in the pool!. I found the whole thing pretty surreal. The swim itself was good - not so difficult as to be impossible (obviously) but hard enough to feel like an achievement. It was quite a disorienting experience in that being open water it was hard to know where you were in relation to distance and everyone else. Sometimes there were many swimmers round me - sometimes fewer. And front crawl doesn't really allow for a good look at the scenery! (I saw a lot of the bank and a hint of a lovely blue sky!)

It was a good experience but slightly marred by having to walk over a 100 yards of very dodgy ground at the end. As an owner of very weak feet I find this morning six a seven cuts and a lovely bruise on my toe. The other issue, as is always the case in these things, is men swimming into you/over you. It is always men, too. Still, they didn't sink me!

All that aside, as a fundraiser it was grand. I have raised (so far) including gift aid £1600 - and I must extend a warm and hearty thanks for those here who have generously donated. That will enable over 100 hours of youth theatre activity - and if you take an average 20 children in each session - that equates to over 2000 opportunities to participate. You surely know by now how important I consider the participation in activity of this kind - and the impact it can and does have on children and young people 's lives so I am, naturally, as chuffed as mint balls about this sum raised. Thank you very much.

I am truly sorry about this picture. Maud chose today to return to being a minx of epic proportions and she could not stand and wait without being a little bit very naughty so my official photographer missed the moment when I emerged like a sea goddess, selkie bride a beached whale from the water. And this was all I could manage after the event! To be fair to Maudulent she has a fortnight of jumping in the sea and chasing and so on at will... So not being suddenly able was tough for her to understand.

I am st my brother's in Bristol today so will probably not catch up my journal or with you until later in the week.

See you soon :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.