"There's no black in impressionism"

....but fortunately (for me) there is in photography.

I visited The Burrell Collection this afternoon. I'd been adding back my earliest blip entries over the weekend and remembered that I went through a phase of visiting there a lot (so much so I got a bit sick of it!).

I arrived today just in time for a tour of the exhibition on impressionism. It was a really excellent talk, with a very knowledgeable and lively tour leader who told some fascinating stories about the painters and paintings. We're really very lucky to have such a superb collection in Glasgow.

Very sad to hear that the Burrell will be closing for a few years in 2016. Partly because of the leaky roof and partly due to a battle relating to Burrell's will (he didn't want his collection to leave Scotland, there are others who would like it to travel in order to raise essential funds....).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.