Combi31

By Combi31

Blue sky thinking

A young heron, one of this year's fledglings See it in more detail here.

There are lots of herons, in fact I didn't realise that there were so many - I spotted 27 of them and 11 egrets on one of the small îlots on the lake - at first I thought they were the protective sleeves on just-planted trees, arranged in a line at the water's edge, until I got my binoculars out.

I also saw what I thought was migrating cranes - the sky was black with them, but they were too low and looking as if they were searching for a place to land - which cranes do.
I took a few shots, knowing that they were too far away to be any use for blip - I just wanted to check what they were.
It turns out they were cormorants - there must have been between 200 to 300 - I've never seen a sight quite like it, I also didn't know that they flocked, nor that they migrated - well there's a thing.

Hope Sunday is a good one for you :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.