Adrian Mole aged 17 3/4.

After a really disappointing trip to Our Dynamic Earth. (Oh Christ it was shite. I'm actually quite angry you can charge £42 for such a fucking useless 'experience'. Like a community museum had got hold of 50 grand and blew it all on second hand animatronic models from a broken down pier exhibit, a John Hannah voiceover and 3D effects my mad auntie Fuckface created on her Amstrad 2000. When she was dead).

We drove out to Yellowcraigs for a bracing walk on the beach, Christ! it was cold, my bollocks had retracted into my stomach and I was still so angry I was punching seagulls. Eventually I was brought down to earth by a promise of a visit to the Falco Konditomeister cafe in Gullane. Lordy. A cake emporium to make a woman weep. And I mean properly, not small, discreet tears that you might shed at a film or a distant dead relative. I was on my knees, sobbing, snot running down my chin pawing at the cake display case. In the end we sat down at a table, no-one would look at me. I might have embarrassed myself a smidge. Then Adrian Mole aged 17 3/4 came over to serve. Oh, he was wonderful. He was such a pedant. He corrected our pronunciation of all the German cakes, in that patient 'I've got all day' kinda way, so we would repeat his pronunciation. I mean 6 or 7 times until he was satisfied. Only then would he put it in his little order book. Danke Adrian, you really cheered me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.