My Photographic Footprint

By Theodora8

A Crafty & Quarrelsome C15th man's dwelling.

The sign for Baconsthorpe Castle enticed me along the track today, after years of driving past it every time I went to Norfolk.

There is a lot more of it left than I had imagined. You can see the staircase, which lifted this man John Heydon and his family from floor to floor of what was a smart Inner Gatehouse.
The will of John's son Sir Henry, describes it as 'being luxuriously furnished with feather beds and silk curtains'.

John Heydon was a turncoat in the Wars of The Roses. His charcter seems to have been less than excellent. His bad repuation has lasted far longer than his finery, acquired at the expense of those who trusted him no doubt.

I enjoyed wandering amongst the ruins as the swans swam in the moat, and I let my imagination visualise and play with the idea of their lives here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.