an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Mad Day

I headed out early to try out a tennis community session. I got to the very local courts and it was all a bit young for me so I legged it home dived in the car and headed to another local tennis club where I had heard a whisper there was Cardio Tennis going on.

It only turned out to be full on proper exercise. Considering I have only recently picked up a racquet for the first time in just under 20 years and also considering its about 5 years since having any real exercise that was not involving some sort of tag or hide and seek game this may have been a mistake. It didn't help that I slipped bably at one point (poor choice of footwear). Anyway I got through it, though reather painfully.

The little ones had a party in the afternoon which Wife parented at whilst I got to wander and do the shopping ( I say wander, I mean walk painfully like someone who has not used their body for sport in a decade). On my wander I found a house strangely growing grapes on their front wall. Not seen that before. After picking up the others we had to walk to where I had parked the car. We noticed the Police van and the hearse but continued on. Just as we got within a few metres of the hearse a man came out of a house walking backwards, holding a full and blanketed stretcher, with another chap the other end.

We did not fancy all the questions so I made a ridiculous distraction of getting the little ones to look at some for sale signs by a shop in the other direction until the hearse man gave me a thumbs up. Now that doesn't happen everyday.

Just as I had got used to the pain in my body I noticed out the window someone sitting outside a neighbouring house. He was there for a while and looked like was sleeping. Eventually I decided I had to check on him. To be honest I thought he was someone who had just had too many, but more sadly he was homeless. And so it was I was in my local shop trying to decide what chocolate bar he would like. I went for a Twix and some water. Everyone likes a Twix right?

A very different kind of day in all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.