TrishaR

By TrishaR

My Obsession

I love scones. But there is certain criteria that has to be met. They most definitely have to be fresh, made that day and I can tell if they haven't! There has to be enough butter for both sides (some places are mean and put a slither of butter in a small dish so I have to request two dishes. The jam should be home made and not in jars, but worse is the little plastic container with the pull back top :-( And again, there should be a generous amount, not just a scrape along the top barely covering the butter......

My favourites are plain butter scones, but I have had apple and cinnamon which were pretty good. On holiday last week I had two, and the best one, in fact, up in the top spot was one I had last Sunday in Poolewe, on the way back from Melon Udrigle, in the Bridge Cafe. It was amazing and best of all, the raspberry jam was made by an old lady in the village in the traditional way, in fact I commented to the owner that it tasted just like my mum's jam! It was a good end to that lovely afternoon - a 10 out of 10 scone !! ;-)

Busy Day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.