Discord

I don’t have a bucket list, but my fuck-it list is a mile long.


Today I left a meeting at Amy's junior school with a referral to CAMHs (Child and Adolescent Mental Health), a referral to the Occupational Therapist and a referral for an Autistic Spectrum Disorder Assessment. It took a school Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator to spot the same signs I have been seeing in Amy, but was told I was, "Imagining it," and it was simply, "copied behaviour".

I am unconcerned. If I have learnt anything from going through all of this with my eldest daughter, Ana, it is that a diagnosis is not a magic wand. It doesn't change anything and it doesn't change your child. Things remain the same.

Amy's form teacher asked if there was any subjects that Amy expresses a keen interest in they could use at school to better engage her. I answered, "Yes. Death."

Photograph - The Goddess of Discord herself, 18 month old Jessica Eris. New word this week, 'treasure', pertaining to a bottle top found under the sofa.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.