WorldLens

By worldlens

Christmas in September

I know it's only September, but Christmas is not too far away. Please don't roll your eyes. I know. I know. In the States, Christmas decorations seemed to emerge earlier and earlier every year. So this year, I'm beating them to it. Although I don't know that for a fact, because I haven't had anyone survey a supermarket for me.

While unpacking a few last things from my move a few months ago, I came across this Christmas ornament. It was one of my first. I don't know why, but it has always been a favorite.

Near the holidays, the first year after I moved to Thailand, I got a box in the mail from my mom. She had sent a few ornaments and small candy canes along with some wrapped presents. The candy canes have long disappeared, but the ornaments remain, bringing back smiles and fun memories of decorating the Christmas tree.

Maybe my roommate and I will hang ornaments on my garden this year, or maybe we'll find a palm tree, or maybe we'll think of something else. However it works out, this ornament is sure to get a prized position.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.