stephenmarsh3

By stephenmarsh3

Tour of Britain

Well the Tour of Britain arrived in Keswick at 3.30pm today. The Cumbrian rain lived up to it's reputation and poured down on cue but it didn't dampen the spirits of the locals who turned out to cheer them on. The race set off from Carlisle at 11am and travelled through Wigton, Maryport, Whitehaven and on to the Honister Pass. From there, the cyclists took in Derwentwater before passing through Keswick on their way to Kendal. I stationed myself under a canopy outside the Conservative club on Penrith Rd and jumped up onto a table when they appeared. Not knowing where Wiggo was placed, I decided to go for a general shot rather than run the risk of missing him, while trying to pick him out. As it happens, I think he is the cyclist smack bang in the middle of the shot, the first Sky team member with a white flash on his helmet. It was good to have seen the event, even though my only interest in cycling these days is when I ride my old Iron Horse to Threlkeld for a pint or two :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.