Plus ça change...

By SooB

Ca roule!

At least this roulade worked. But I'm already getting ahead of myself.

Mr B's arrival last night was greeted with much happiness from all. This morning, however, brought the first stand up fight with my mother in law. I'd been dealing with her bitchiness all week by just walking away, or pretending I hadn't heard, or pretending I didn't understand sarcasm. This morning I just told her she was being unfair. She stormed off. I thought I had broken the weekend. But, to my (and general) astonishment, her reappearance brought... well, not an apology, but a grudging acknowledgement of what I'd said and lovely behaviour all day.

And so it was that we spent a very pleasant hour or so wandering (literally arm-in-arm) around the market buying a nightgown (mil) and fruit (me). Lunch, outside for the first time this week, was very pleasant. Then I was overwhelmed with tiredness (and one too many glasses of rosé) and had to have a little sleep.

Dinner was Mr B's duck and chips (our chip pan seems to be broken :( Must fix it...) and this chocolate roulade. (From the Avoca book in case I need to remind myself another time which roulade works!) A late night fighting to get my Mac to show any movies through iTunes, and then finally watching Julie and Julia which everyone enjoyed (though CarbBoy was a bit appalled by the smoochie bits). Later night than even I'd intended hearing all the ins and outs of Mr B's new assignment. He's in for an interesting few months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.