Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Northern Armenia

BIG

The Armenian border isn't far from Tbilisi, so before I had time to settle my crossing-a-border-have-no-local-currency-do-I-need-a-visa?-nervousness we came upon the border.

As per, we all shuffled off the marshrutka and went between the two posts. I didn't, in fact, need a visa and the only word of advice the burly, black-eyed frontier guard had to offer was to try the local cognac, it's sublime.

We had left the verdant, luscious environment of southern Georgia to find ourselves in a martian landscape. Dark earthy nothingness, endless, dotted only by the odd shepherd and skeletal Soviet factory. Mt Ararat, across the closed Turkish border, loomed in the distance.

After a while, however, my intrigue for the strange surroundings slowly gave way to boredom again.

So this time I spent my time coming up with illogical pieces of advice: 'if you tear the pages out of your book as you go, you've got less to read!, or, stretching one leg has the psychological effect of stretching both.

I digress.

Yerevan slowly came into focus in the distance and I we edged closer, in the suburbs, I noticed that almost every car, be it Lada or Land Rover, has 100% tinted windows. This, coupled with the abandoned factories, empty landscapes and run-down tower blocks gave the feeling that perhaps no-body is actually here...

I got off the marshrutka at a bus station that was split by a road, connected by an underpass. The alphabet is different from Georgian (not that I ever got the hang of that) so I just stood near the bus stop, looking into space, to lazy to commit to a decision.

From amongst the huddled up families, waiting for buses, a giant loomed.

"Are you alright mate?
"Eh, yeah, just waiting for a taxi... (is this some elaborate scam?)
"I have my car, hop on in!"

It turns out that this gargantuan man was an American diplomat working in Yerevan. He gave me a lift all the way to the hostel and fed me bread (not in some weird, erotic way, I'm just too lazy (again) to find a better way to express myself).

It turned out to be one of those great, travel moments where being lazy kind of pays off.

Yet, it was most definitely surreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.