Transitoire

By Transitoire

Happy Birthday Dad

My Dad’s birthday today, one of the many reasons why I had to get back to England. After cards and presents opening we had a chilled out morning before he went off to play tennis while Mum and I went to walk the dog with Grandma Sylvia. The weather was pretty grim I will be completely honest, drizzly and grey…not much to photograph, nor did I take my camera out – I didn’t think there was much point trying! Similar hugs to yesterday with Grandma Sylvia though, followed by a usual comment of “you took your time didn’t you?” Got to love her!

In the evening we went out for a meal, to a restaurant that I have wanted to go back to the entire time that I have been in France…The Barking Frog. Possibly the best restaurant I have ever frequented, the service being top class and the food absolutely amazing. You cannot find its ilk in France to be completely honest with you…la gastronomie française has had its day if you ask me, British (and all its adopted cuisines) is far superior. Amazing meal, and it has pretty much hit home that I am now home…I think. A Skype with Thom in the evening put the top on an absolutely lovely day, it was so nice to see him even if the picture was a bit jerky and blurry and get to chat even if the majority of the “chatting” was typing due to the bad connection.

These two beautiful people are my parents, in case you hadn’t seen them before. The best ones anyone could wish for really, happy to let me go and make my own mistakes while still being there whenever I need them. By letting me go out into the wide world on my own knowing that they will always love me no matter what I do has really helped me become the person I am today. They are both my best friends and my parents, and no one could ever replace them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.