Transitoire

By Transitoire

Liverpool, how you have improved

For the first time in seven months, I have finally managed a visit to the hairdressers. I have had the same hairdresser since I was seven years old, so I have always been loath to try and find another no matter where I live…I don’t think I would trust anyone else to cut my hair, don’t judge me!

Managed to Skype Chandru today as well before I headed off to get my hair cut which was lovely, as we had not spoken for quite a while. Chandru and I have pretty much constantly been in contact with each other throughout our year abroads and lived across the road from each other in second year, meaning that we had a lot of Nero’s coffees during exam period and many a merry evening together in various fancy dresses!

So, before going shopping with Mum and Dad in Liverpool I had to take some photographs of the beautiful scenes in front of me. ‘The Three Graces’ are set between modern reflective buildings with the water and the sky surround. If you look at the top of the middle building you will see a statue of a bird perched on the highest roof…this is a Liver Bird, and the myth goes that if they “fly away” Liverpool will wall to ruin. The Pier Head of Liverpool is just beautiful, in fact, after 2008 Liverpool has really been on the up. The old buildings have been renovated, and new buildings have sprung up everywhere…and I think that Liverpool has the best shops out of every city I have visited. Which, for a girl, is very important. It also has the most museums, art galleries and theatres in any city outside of London. A brilliant place to be in my opinion. I managed to find a replacement for my broken leather jacket, bought five years ago in Monaco, which I thought was irreplaceable…this of course made my day. Having dinner with my parents at Christakis made it even better…a two course meal for £7.95 is just perfect, especially after a day of shopping. An awkward moment came as we were sitting down, as without thinking I said houp-là as I sat down (which means something like ‘whoops’ or just a sitting down noise), to which the waiter exclaimed with delight “Did you just say oompa?!”. I have to say, having to explain to a Greek man why me, an English girl, was speaking French by accident in a Greek restaurant. All awkwardness aside, an absolutely lovely meal and an amazing day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.