IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Life's a (no) gas

We ran out of calor gas today. I have never lived anywhere in the Uk before where I had to rely on Calor gas for my cooking, but this is the norm here in the Fenlands. We have a big orange 47Kg bottle, which has lasted for nearly 2 years. It costs about £55.00 a bottle, so it is actually very good value ... the problem is, I just can't get that damn nut to unscrew!

I know it turns to the right (clockwise) to unscrew .... but it just wont budge! I have a full 47Kg spare bottle, but I just can't get the nut off to swap over the bottles.

Calor gas are now coming on Wednesday to swap the bottle over for another one. I'll let them deal with it. If you ever watch the video on their website, then it looks sooooooooo easy ...... they can undo the nut with a simple spanner and then use their finger. You would have to be Samson to do the same on mine.

Meanwhile .... I spent a few hours at the garage re: my blown head gasket problem. The end result of lots of tests was:

The engine has improved and is getting better!

The Steel Seal has made a difference. It remains to be seen if it can totally solve the problem. Only time will tell, but the car seems to be running a bit better each day.

I'll keep you updated as the week goes on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.