Plus ça change...

By SooB

Lame late night snap

Back to the routine of school, homework and normality. Very cold, though we are due some warm weather again at the weekend, I am told. Despite the sub-zero temperatures*, the crickets are still chirping away outside and my kids are still stubbornly putting on shorts every morning.

A day also of trying to sort out my Mac. It is freezing about every 20 minutes, or any time I try to 'check for software updates'. I've repaired permissions, repaired the drive, run the hardware checking thingy, unplugged all peripherals and tried to run a RAM checking program lots of times (it freezes up before it can finish). I can't keep it alive long enough to download an appropriate combo pack (though I think it's up to date anyway) and I've had the bottom off it half a dozen times checking if a different arrangement of RAM sticks will help (since I can't check the RAM electronically, trial and error on which ones to stick back in will have to do). I am hoping it will strike me in the night ("oh it might be that lollipop I shoved in the DVD slot") but am nearly at my wits end with it. I'm sure all these hard restarts (or whatever you call it when you just press the power button until it dies) are doing it no good at all.

It might be time to seek proper help rather than just peering blearily at forums on my tiny phone screen.

And that, along with some tomato preserving, was my day. The photo is vaguely inspired by a comment out of the blue from CarbBoy over lunch: "I know how to catapult a Lego head". (It's all in the cape action, apparently.)

There are a couple of backblips for the weekend.

*ok, it's about 17 degrees, but that feels cold all of a sudden!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.