EverydayAdventure

By emma818

Moving day

Today was the last official day for summer student workers at Colby, which meant that it was moving day for most of us. It also happened to be one of the hottest days yet this summer, with temperatures reaching the mid-90s.

The day has been LOOONG but good. I got a call around 11 telling me that my boss (who just joined blip!) was on campus and wanted to see me. I finished up the meeting I was in and went over to her office to find it deserted... Well, I walked down the hall a bit and found everyone from the ES department who's still around waiting with cake and ice cream! My birthday is going to be Tuesday, so I wasn't even on birthday mode yet, and it was a lovely surprise.

From there, the moving process began. My friend and former roommate Cat brought her family's pickup truck so we could move the couches, tables, etc. A I mentioned yesterday, we've kind of been living in a warehouse. Thanks to Cat's truck, we got the biggest stuff up to the Senior Apartments relatively easily, but our room keys weren't released until after Cat had to be home. So we set up shop on the front lawn of the dorm and kept moving stuff up there. A stop at Orange Julius for smoothies was a much-needed break, and by the time we got back, our keys were ready.

The room is great--I can't wait to get things squared away so it's really livable!

The second wonderful surprise was Jess, one of my other roommates who has been in Acadia with her boyfriend Lewis, (one of the seniors I didn't want to graduate this spring), gave me a call to double check that a certain comfortable chair that had been in Lewis' room last year and our room this summer was going to be in our room for the next year. I assured her that yes, it was already on the lawn outside the apartments, waiting to be moved in. When we went back to the hallway to carry more stuff from the elevator to the room, we saw 2 people carrying the same chair into the building. Not knowing who they were from the second story, Liz ran down to save the chair. I carried more stuff to the room, confident that she had the situation under control. The last thing I expected to see were Jess and Lewis carrying the chair down our hall! It was a WONDERFUL surprise, great to see them!


After that, the day dragged on for hours and hours and hours. All told, moving took over 10 hours, start to finish, and we're nowhere near moved in. A LOT of the stuff doesn't belong to my roommates and I, and we'll need to sort out what lives where once school starts.

But I'm off to Vermont tomorrow for a family reunion and then home on Sunday. Will backblip when I get home. BED NOW.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.