TinyR

By TinyR

The Tour of Britain

Yesterday, the Panther and I went to the end of the first stage in the Tour of Britain at Drumlanrig Castle, about 17 miles north of Dumfries. It was a beautiful drive down despite the heavy rain and high winds and we got there in perfect time to bag our spot just opposite the podium. The time between us arriving and the cyclists making their first appearance at the castle passed pretty quickly even though they were going slower than the "slow schedule" and it wasn't long before people were banging the hoardings as the first few police motorbike came into view.

The stage was won by Elia Viviani and I was going to use a photo of him for my blip until one of the commentators announced the arrival of Roman Van Uden from Node4 Giordana Racing. He had been involved in a crash at the back of the peloton when the cyclists were doing a lap around the castle and finished the race carrying his bike over the line. As soon as I had taken the photo, I knew it was going to be my blip. No contest.

More of the photos can be seen here, here, here and here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.