Journey Through Time

By Sue

Lesser Finch Baby

Isn't that just like a kid! Ask him to pose pretty and then their face is dirty! I still like this though, so another finch image but I don't care because....isn't he cute??? And the background, by the way, is actually the neighbor's fence. I was really close to them this afternoon so I was able to get a decent shot. Debbi , my birding guru, explained to me that finches are the last to breed and raise a family because that's when the thistle and seeds are plentiful and that is their main diet. They sure hang around our thistle feeder. All day long, cheep, peep, cheep, peep..... But they are so darn cute, and we enjoy having them hang around, which is the whole point of feeding the birds, right? The mom and dad tend to these little ones for quite a while, and it's hilarious to watch them sometimes crowding around the parents, begging for food and then the folks decided to get away and they fly off, with 5 or 6 youngsters racing after them....

I've been straightening up and cleaning a bit today. All my days off playing caught up to me and I have to do some general chores for awhile. Our microwave went on the fritz, but Bill found a Youtube video showing how to clean the contact points that get messed up inside the microwave. It looks easy enough and the video was very clear on what to do. That is no doubt the issue. Haven't tackled that yet, but we will.

I have the window open in this room and I can hear that cheep, peep, cheep, peep of those finch babies. They are insistent with their needs.

Better run. Later, guys...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.