LTLT

By LaurieT

A package from the U.K. -

I studied 19th and 20th century U.S. Social History with a focus on child-rearing when I started graduate school, but had never read about conditions for women in England during that time, so I was delighted with Jennifer Worth’s books on the subject. After borrowing them from our library, I decided I wanted to own them – and to read her final book which our library doesn’t have. I ordered them from the U.K. so that I could get the covers showing old pictures from the East End, instead of the photos from the TV series that are on the U.S. editions. The first book in the series has been reprinted with a new cover, but it was still exciting to receive them yesterday – now I just have to clear away some other books to make space for them. Our bookcases are beyond full, and there is no room to add more, so it’s time to cull my collection. It will be another good project for this fall and winter – as well as reading a few more books!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.