Skyroad

By Skyroad

Time Traveller, St. Stephen's Green

Sunday was mostly cool and grey, threatening (or delivering) rain. I took a drive into Dublin and got promptly gridlocked. Everyone seemed to have come into town. Difficult to find parking and I didn't have much time. So I ended up wandering into Stephen's Green.

On fine days this little square plot of meandering paths, flower-beds, water and ancient, unruly trees (about a quarter of a mile square) is fairly crowded. Despite the weather, there were people walking around, though not many. Behind this statue of Robert Emmet, I spotted some kids singing quietly, with a guitar and bongos, as if they were relaxing on a sunny afternoon in Golden Gate Park circa 1969. I like the expression on Emmet's face, and his gesture. He's probably meant to look as if he's giving that famous speech from the dock, but it seems to me as if he's not quite sure how he arrived here among these suddenly huge trees (after being hanged and beheaded for treason two centuries ago). Once you take away their plinths, certain statues appear poignantly human and vulnerable.

Shortly afterwards, I noticed THIS GROUPin the roofed pavilion on the little artificial lake. They were remarkably good-natured and friendly, happy to have me shoot a good few frames.

In the end I chose the least 'arty' shot (the one I took on request) because I believe it shows something of their warmth and openess. I named the birthday boy, holding the blue balloon on the right, Mr Blue largely because I don't know his name, or the names of any of the others. I was so much in a hurry by this stage I forgot to ask. Nevertheless, they insisted I take a cup of lemonade and a large, tissue-wrapped cookie, which I stuffed in my pocket. They have my email, and if they contact me I'll send a few of the photos.

When I asked Mr Blue his age he told me he was 23, not quite half mine. I've no idea if these people are permanent residents, students, immigrants... they could be more Dublin than I am for all I know. I hope they settle here, if they haven't already. We could do with loads more like them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.