GN

By gn

Infra-red

Today I received my IR-filter from DX and I started testing.
Everyone who ever experienced with these filters, find out you can't use them without post-processing, so you must shoot in RAW. (example of a shot without any postprocessing can be found here)

My camera has a built-in IR filter, to block IR-light and the filter I use in front of my lens is quite the opposite, it blocks all except IR light. So you'll have to use incredibly long exposures to even get an image.

For this shot I used 3 minutes of exposure, so a tripod and a remote (to lock the release-button without touching the camera) are both needed.

The post-processing involved swapping the red en blue channel, applying the correct white-balance and I saturated the sky and applied a blue tone to it. (the sky is black, without any clouds)

Well it's a complete new world to me, this IR world, and I'll have a lot to learn to make really surreal images using it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.