Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Tube-less, Not Careless

Hold your horses. No need do dial 999. No need to send for help either.

I am not trying a Van Gogh impression nor am I mental (though my wife thinks I am).

As many of you blippers already know, I was born partially deaf (in both ears) and here I am fitting my new moulds, which are the rubbery bits that plug into the ears. The scissors are used to cut the tube to the correct length so that through hearing aid fits comfortably behind the ear. As you can see here the tubes come in a curly 'L' shape & long as different people have different shaped/sized ears.

Usually the audiolologists in the NHS do this for you, but seeing that it would mean two appointments I find it easier for them to send the moulds to me.

The first appointment involves placing a small piece of sponge, with a piece of thread attached to it, deep into each ear. This is followed by squirting a silicone type substance (1 part hardener, 1 part substance) into my ears. This is a weard but truly wonderful feeling - a bit like cotton buds, but a hundred times better, honestly. After a few minutes of total deafness the substance hardens like a piece of silicone and then, you've guessed it, the audiologist pulls the thread sllloooowwwly. Then pop.......pop! Nice.

The "moulds" then get sent away to be moulded so that the actual moulds could be produced all smooth and hole included for the tube. Tricky process as ear moulds need to be a tight fit to minimise feedback (loud whistling) & sometimes they are made too loose......which means back to the first appointment!

So you can see why I have them sent to me! Saves them time too.

My ears a bit sore now. Might have to give em an early rest tonight........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.