As seen by me...

By GrantR

Ring flash... bought!

Ha! Finally I am with ringflash! Bought it mainly for the insect stuff but had a little play with it tonight. Very windy in Edinburgh so my favourite hoverflies had all been blown away, the flowers wouldn't stand still so I brought this little fella inside. Rigged up in my kitchen with the bottom of a steamer providing the bokeh this was one of the shots I got tonight. I can see a big learning curve ahead with this thing, a totally different way of working!

If anyone is interested being a tightarse I bought the cheapo Marumi flash, £100 ring flash, not the last work by anymeans in flash technology but a 3rd of the price of the Sigma and approx 6 times cheaper than the Nikon setup its fine for the occasional use I'll give it. Seems to work ok with the D90 too. No doubt I'll be swearing about it soon but for now, happy enough! Lensbaby next...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.